The School Advisory Council is comprised of men and women who have been called together to provide advice to the pastor and principal of the school. Collectively, the pastor, principal, diocesan officials and School Advisory Council assist in the governance structure of the school.

A Council Member has:

  • An active commitment to Catholic Schools
  • Expertise in areas that contribute to the Council's work
  • A willingness and ability to make a substantial time commitment to the work of the Council
  • The ability to work with others effectively in reaching consensus
  • A desire to further the mission of Catholic schools in the future

Membership should consist of 9 to 15 members, including the pastor and principal. No more than two members of the Council may be parents of students currently enrolled in the school. Other members should be drawn from the parish and members of the broader community, i.e. local newspapers, legal counsel, real estate brokers, area construction companies, financial advisors.

The Executive Committee of the Council (President, Vice President and Secretary) is recommended by the pastor and principal, and is appointed by the Bishop of the Diocese of Metuchen. The other Council members are appointed by the Council President, subject to the approval of the Executive Committee Director of the Department of Education.

Members of the School Council serve for a term of three years with the possibility of a second consecutive term. Members who have served two consecutive terms may be reappointed to the Council after a lapse of at least one year.


36 Main Street, Sayreville, NJ 08872 | Phone: 732-254-1676
© 2016 Our Lady Of Victories School